Ryzen 5 randomly freezes on boot

Hello,

I saw this was an issue and found a few posts on different forums but no real clear way to solve it. Seems like there are a bunch of suggestions out there.

I am dual booting Win 10 and rebornOS. I just purchased the following and installed reborn on a: HP ProDesk 405 G4 Desktop Mini PC with AMD Ryzen 5 Radeon Vega 11

I had issues booting off the USB drive too to install reborn as it would randomly freeze but once inside Linux I was able to run the install fine. But now whenever I boot up (post reborn install) its like 1 out of 6 times or so I can get in without freezing. Attached is an image showing where the freeze happens. So far I have not encountered any freeze while in Linux.

Thank you for taking the time to read and any suggestions are greatly appreciated! FYI, I’m still new at Linux only a 3 month old but glad to be here! :grinning:

Welcome.

I have a question for you: Have you disabled secure boot on your computer?

Another one: What desktop have you installed? If you install GNOME or KDE, both desktops will start by default in Wayland. Try to select X11 when starting either of these two.

I have not found much information about your computer that can help me. On the HP website I have only found a short manual, which has not been of much help to me.

Greetings!

1 Like

@rebornosday You can also check whether you already have the latest BIOS / UEFI for your notebook.

Hey guys,

Thanks for responding. Yes I have secure boot disabled as shown in the attached. I have Gnome installed. Does selecting X11 matter as I can’t even get to the login screen to select these options when it freezes?

Thanks @ron I tried updating via network but bios just got stuck on “configuring network”. I will try to update perhaps another way.

Yes that is a good idea. Most manufacturers offer various options for flashing the BIOS/UEFI.